Student Awards

2022 Civil and Environmental Engineering Award and Scholarship Winners

UC Davis Prize for Excellence in Geotechnical Engineering: This award was established by Professor I. M. Idriss in 2003 to be given to an outstanding student in the geotechnical area. 

  • Maya El Kortbawi
  • Tyler Oathes

Fugro West Fellowship: Established by a gift from the Oakland, CA office of Fugro, this award is given to an outstanding M.S. or Ph.D. graduate student in geotechnical engineering. 

  • Lin Huang
  • Patrick Bassal
  • Yuyan Chen

ConeTec Education Foundation, held at Vancouver Foundation Award: Established in 2016, this gift was granted to the Geotechnical Graduate Student Society to support graduate students and undergraduate students, under the direction of Prof. Jason DeJong.

  • Jakob Strasilla
  • Nathan Love
  • Renmin Pretell

Geosyntec Inc. Fellowship: Established by Geosyntec in 2018, this gift is to award a single individual who has demonstrated strong potential to be a future leader in geotechnical practice or research.

  • Mandeep Singh Basson                            

Patrick C. Lucia Geotechnical Engineering Scholarship: Established in 2019, this gift is to award individuals who have demonstrated academic excellence and a strong potential for contributions in engineering practice.

  • Kyle O'Hara
  • Matthew Burrall

Johannes “Joe” DeVries Graduate Student Award: Established by David Ford and Lynne Cannady in 2013, this award is given to an outstanding graduate student studying water resources engineering.  

  • Emily Snider

Dennis L. and Patricia K. Salisbury Award: This award was established by Mr. Dennis L. Salisbury and Ms. Patricia K. Salisbury in 2013, and is given to an outstanding MS or PhD candidate with research or studies in the area of water quality. 

  • Ruth Thirkill
  • Eleanor Fadely                                        

George and Rosemary Tchobanoglous Graduate Fellowship: This award was established to support a Master’s graduate student in the environmental area.  

  • Adrienne Lowe